Saturday, November 10, 2012


Hello everyone. A chill is in the air as fall holds the western hemisphere in its grasp, but here's some enigmas to keep you nice and warm.


We only have one subset this weekend to ponder, but it's a big one. Everybody within the group has something in common BESIDES STAR TREK! Do you know what it is?

{Marina Sirtis, Jonathan Frakes, Michael Dorn, Brent Spiner, Colm Meaney, LeVar Burton, Nichelle Nichols, Avery Brooks, Paul Winfield, David Warner, Kate Mulgrew}

We'll reveal all next weekend. But for now, let's peek inside THE ANSWERS BOX, and discover the results for our quiz featuring the winners on the 15th anniversary of the Mark Twain prize for (American) Humor from the November 3rd Puzzle Corner.

01. The very first recipient (1998). RICHARD PRYOR
02. This year's honoree hosts a talk show (2012). ELLEN DeGENERES
03. The 2002 honoree has been a psychiatrist, an inn keeper, and a cartoonist; at least on TV. BOB NEWHART
04. The honoree for the year 2000 was quite appropriate, considering a classic comedy routine he originated with Mel Brooks. CARL REINER
05. The 2004 honoree has served as executive producer of what can be considered the last true variety show for most of the program's existence. LORNE MICHAELS
06. 2005's honoree loves the banjo, and is perhaps the most frequent guest host for #5. STEVE MARTIN
07. 1999's honoree is a famous improv comedian long before the popularity of Whose Line Is It Anyway? JONATHAN WINTERS
08. 2001's honoree has a distinguished career between movies and television, includingStar Trek: The Next Generation. WHOOPI GOLDBERG
09. 2009's recipient actually turned down the honor twice previously, allegedly because of all the cuss words used during the very first ceremony. BILL COSBY
10. 2003's honoree was prominent on Rowan and Martin's Laugh In, and that's the truth. LILY TOMLIN
11. 2006's honoree is actually a renowned writer, with plenty of movies and plays to his credit. NEIL SIMON
12. 2008's honoree unfortunately passed away before he could receive his prize, but will always be remembered for telling it like it is, including not being able to find the "blue" food. GEORGE CARLIN
13. The 2007 honoree looks mah-velous. BILLY CRYSTAL
14. A past alumni of #5, 2010's current TV series is ironically at the address where she has worked for so long. TINA FEY
15. 2011's honoree is also a past alumni of #5, but has concentrated more on a comedic movie career. WILL FERRELL

No comments: